MCVB Press Release


Media Contact:

Becky S Wilson, WDS Marketing & Public Relations

Phone (913) 362 4541


Mission Business Development Committee Changes Name to Mission Convention and Visitors Bureau to Grow Organization

Mission, KS (March 4, 2009): The Mission Business Development Committee (MBDC) has changed their organization name to the Mission Convention and Visitors Bureau (MCVB) as of March 1st, according to Suzie Gibbs, Chairperson. “The new name will allow us to enlarge our organization through the addition of a new steering committee. As our events continue to increase in activities and attendance, we need more volunteers to assist us,” says Gibbs. The MCVB meets at 7:00 pm on the 4th Tuesday of each month at the Sylvester Powell, Jr. Community Center.

The Mission Convention and Visitors Bureau (MCVB), formerly the Mission Business Development Committee, was established in August 2003 by the City of Mission, Kansas to assist in the revitalization and redevelopment of the Mission business district. Responsibilities of the organization include development and administration of investment and revitalization programs for this area. The organization produces four events annually including the Spirit of Mission Days, The Arts & Eats Festival/ Battle of the Brisket barbecue contest, Evening with the Arts and Holiday Lights & Festive Sights. The MCVB, with the support of City of Mission staff, administers a grant program available to owners of business properties located within commercial or mixed-use zoning in the City of Mission.

The MCVB current members include Bill McCrea, Vice Chair (resident), Dave Conradt, (St. Pius X), Lisa Bunce, (Kansas Gas Service), Hersh Casey, (Casey Brothers Sinclair), Arrica Crossley (Rushton PTA,) Celia Dalton (Mission Hy-Vee), Lynn Kring, (Kring Associates), Chad Owens (Mission Pet Mart), Sandy Perry (Resident), Judy Riedel (MGI Promotions) Carrie Slattery, (University of Kansas Hospital), Sherry Stroud, (Mission Bank), Nicole Trembley (Resident), Nicole White (Shawnee Mission North HS Intern), Kathy Lockard (Mission Parks and Recreation), Martin Rivarola (Mission Community Development), Capt. Ben Hadley (Mission Police Department) and Lt. Ken Smith (Mission Police Department).



For more information, contact Suzie Gibbs at (913) 671-8564, or visit our website at